Home Page

British Values and Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Northfield Primary and Nursery School


At Northfield, we work hard to ensure that our children understand that we are one community. There are no outsiders, everybody is different, and we celebrate our differences.


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain, and it protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics.

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race – including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


At Northfield, we actively promote equality and the children’s understanding of the protected characteristics through our curriculum.

The document below shows how our curriculum is planned and delivered to consider the nine Protected Characteristics. We do not teach about all the Protected Characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our children develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding.